Recent reflections and acquired wisdom

I’m so thankful that my husband learned English in his 20’s.  If he hadn’t we would not be here together in Canada and we wouldn’t have our beautiful family.  Actually it is quite amazing how much his English has improved in the 6 years we have been together…although I suppose he has had years of free speech therapy.
I have now realized that a shower can indeed be an acomplishment.  Putting on lotion is even better.
Laundry is more fun when the clothes are teeny tiny.  Nursing bras, towels and bedsheets…less fun.
My brother is a wonderful and wise man.  His first words when he saw me this morning were, “My god, you’ve lost a lot of weight!”  Isn’t he wonderful!  (I’m 32 pounds lighter than I was BEFORE I got pregnant.)  Apparently pregnancy is an awesome weight loss strategy…who knew?
 
Just when you think that you couldn’t possibly love a man more, he insists you get some much needed sleep while he watches all 3 kids…who are all under 4 by the way.

Cooking “bigger” than you need to is awesome because then you get leftovers and don’t have to cook later.  (As an aside, I am totally patting myself on the back for everything I had prepared and stashed in my freezer.)

Twitter friends are amazing…the support, friendship and professional contacts I have made there are invaluable.

I’ve learned that if I do not immediately write about something, the odds are that it will indeed NOT get written about.  (If there was a lazy blogger award I would totally win it.)

Watching Cielo and Junior kiss Diego without prompting warms my heart.  I also cannot believe how quickly they adapted to their new baby brother, they are always trying to help with the baby.  They are super protective already and can’t stop talking about how cute he is.

my boys

my girl and her "baby brudder"

Miracles DO happen…my daughter has not willingly sat for a portrait photo in over 2 years.  I have a few pictures of her in tears and with red eyes to show her later…but now I am waiting for Sept 9 so I can pick up our family pictures.  She is smiling and posing in these pictures.  I am SO EXCITED.  All those candles I lit were TOTALLY WORTH IT! (Ok I’m kidding, I’m a lapsed Catholic so no actual candles were lit in the name of photography.)

her old pic attitude

Professional organizations CAN be involved with their members.  I received a care package in the mail from CASLPA after Diego’s birth.  There was something in there for everyone in my family.

Diego's Official CASLPA diaper bag

 Junior claimed the CASLPA brochure that came in the package.  I think my son is going to be a Speech Pathologist…this brings me great joy!

Jr reading his SLP brochure

he claimed this as his own "book"

Buzz Lightyear was abandoned for the brochure

It still hasn't gotten old...

Sweet SLP dreams

I see you speak the language of awesome. Awesome.

